What is the consequence if the throw-in is not placed properly after a jumper violation?

Study for the FIBA Referee IOT Test. Prepare with engaging questions, flashcards, and detailed explanations for each query. Begin your journey to becoming an official FIBA referee now!

When a throw-in is not placed properly after a jumper violation, the correct consequence is that the ball is turned over to the opposing team. This situation arises because the proper procedure must be followed after any violation, including a jumper situation. If the throw-in is not conducted according to the rules—such as being positioned at the wrong spot on the boundary or executed in a manner that doesn't comply with the regulations—it results in a breach of protocol. As a consequence, the game officials award possession to the other team, allowing them to resume play from the correct position. This maintains the integrity of the game and ensures that both teams are given a fair opportunity to compete.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy